Is it just me, or is it getting hot in here?

When a journalist at the Worksop Guardian asked me to come with her to watch her being cut out of a car, I immediately said yes. Spend a day with 10 or 20 firefighters and their hoses? It doesn’t take a mathematician to figure out my answer.. It was one of those really unexpected hot, sunny days. Spirits were high and burnt skin was on the cards due to the non planning ahead and lack of suntan lotion.
When we arrived the firefighters showed us around the vehicles for about two hours. Then I got to ride up front while we drove a little bit, and the fireman showed me how to drive it (I now know how to drive a fire-engine, which has to be good for the old CV) I was fighting the urge to text everyone I knew and tell them I was in a fire-engine with the biggest hottie out of the entire station, hell maybe the world – but I reminded myself how sad that was.  I never knew there was so many different things those big red machines can do..and men love to talk about tools..  They even had a whole separate machine for emergencies other then fire — ie. cow up a tree, man down a hole, man’s bollock stuck in a chair (that really happened) . The firemen also showed us their suits while I tried not to drool at their perfectly toned abs. Then it was time for Jen to get into her fire suit. They asked me if I wanted to get a suit on too, just for the craic. ‘You’re alright’ I said, glancing dubiously at the fashion faux pas.
firemen-1

Jen put on her suit, and then the helmet which looked very heavy. They asked her if she was nervous. She started to look really nervous as soon as they asked this. They were blatantly hoping she was. I think some of this firemen types secretly hope someone will be distressed just so they can save them.

Help! I'm stuck up a ladder Mr. Fireman!

Help! I'm stuck up a ladder Mr. Fireman!

They asked her if she was clastrophobic – she said no. This would have been the point where I would have ripped off the suit and ran into the sunset. It kind of worries me that my clastrophobia will one day hamper my ability to be a good journalist.
Jen got into the car and they placed a clear sheet of plastic over her. She looked a bit unnerved at this point. Then ten beefy firefighters crowded around and began to cut her out of the car with their strapping tools.. I am talking about machinery here, so don’t get exited.
First they cut off the boot. Next they moved onto cutting into the sides of the roof. Then they got a glass cutter and cut through the windscreen. Finally they lifted off the roof, much to the obvious relief of a startled Jen.

The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire..

The roof, the roof, the roof is on fire..

Get yer tool away from my face..

Get yer tool away from my face..

But her ordeal was not over yet. Next they had to lift her out as though she had a spinal injury. They told her to look in pain and sad, but to be fair – thats impossible, when it was clearly quite funny.

Mmm surrounded by men..

Mmm surrounded by men..

Finally her ordeal was over, and we were all allowed to go have a cup of tea with the firemen, and some biscuits.
This was perhaps the best part of the day.. Firemen, really are alot of fun to hang out with. A sure ‘fire’ way to beat the blues.. Now where are those matches..
